My new L2 job assignment

I work at a small academic library. As one of my most recent jobs I have been assigned to propose and create MySpace and Facebook pages to represent our library in the world of social networking! I was so excited when I was assigned this task. Unfortunately it has to go through many proposals and approval channels before it can be published to the web. But better late than never right?!

So my first step in the assignment is to identify other academic libraries that are using MySpace, look at their pages, and determine what features might or might not work on my own library’s MySpace. So two nights ago at work I spent a good three hours of my time searching through profiles and taking notes about them. There could be worse jobs, right? Through my research came across an interesting library group. So any fellow librarian MySpacers out there should definitely check out the Libraries on MySpace group. It doesn’t seem to be just for libraries either. There are many librarians on there as well.

So if anyone knows of any academic libraries out there that have excellent MySpace or Facebook pages definitely let me know. Any tips of tricks that you may have for creating an awesome page are also greatly appreciated!

2 responses to “My new L2 job assignment

  1. Chris Breitenbach

    Hi Aimee,

    Perhaps you’re already aware, but a couple semesters ago a couple GSLIS students here at Dominican created their own MySpace account to “look at public library MySpace profiles to see how libraries are using MySpace to interact with patrons.” Take a look:

    http://www.myspace.com/librarymyspacestudy

  2. Hi Aimee,

    I just wanted to say that I am very curious about MySpace and Facebook in academic libraries and have just started to explore this area. I hope you find some outstanding pages – I will let you know if I come across any. Good luck with this work project!

    Jennie

Leave a Reply

